THE LOBBY A gathering place. Introductions, sports, showin' off your ride, birthday-anniversary-milestone, achievements, family oriented humor.

Old 10-20-2015, 02:32 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default Is this hobby dying?

I drive my daughter to school some mornings, I go by the high school, all the cars are new 4 dr sedans, old 4dr sedans. There is 1 2000 Mustang Gt and there is a 76 Nova(which is a teachers). No cool cars in the lot. It's sad. When I graduated in 1986 the lot was full of muscle cars and cool cars.
The teacher that owns the Nova tracked my daughter down and asked her what's in my car it sounds so mean! He even came to my house to check my car out. I told him it was sad that he had the only cool car in the lot.

I hate to sound like my father but seems like the good old days are gone!

Old 10-20-2015, 02:47 PM
Ultimate Warrior

I live near a high school, and notice that the parking lot looks like the lot of any office building.

High school was a long time ago, but I'm pretty sure the majority of cars in our lot were of the "uncool hand-me-downs from mom" variety, too. (although my friends would chop the springs on mom's old Accord and turn it into a low rider). It's not like every high school parking lot used to be filled with 400 cuda's, GTOs, etc.

Old 10-20-2015, 02:51 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Idk man, vintage cars are worth as much or more than they have ever been.

And we are currently in a market of performance cars the likes of which have never been seen. Look at the arms race between the big 3 right now. Or hell look at the power output of the base model V6 camaro. Its more than an LS1.

The one place I would say we have fallen off is affordability with new performance cars. The price tag to get a V6 camaro (or the new turbo 4) is reasonable. But the cost to jump to the V8 is in my opinion, outrageous.

https://www.youtube.com/@CatfishMotorsports
Old 10-20-2015, 02:54 PM
Senior Chief