Old 04-26-2008, 10:58 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Default "spring ring" battery cables.

Hi guys, I need a new set of battery cables,so I was looking at PY's spring ring original style cables. I've never used these kind before,and the pics in the catalog are kind of small,so I have a few questions. Is there an actual spring that keeps tension on the battery post? Can't tell from the pic,and I just don't want bad contact between the cable and post because of lack of tension. If anyone has used these before,how did they hold up,and was the quality OK? Or should I just get the old standard bolt type?
Thanks,Drake

71' GTO -original 400/4-speed/3.23 posi
13.95 @ 102.1 on street tires @ 4055lbs.

‘63 LeMans- ‘69 400 w/ original transaxle. 2.69 gears.
Old 04-26-2008, 11:32 AM
Ultimate Warrior

It is a spring type squeeze clamp incased in lead. Originals had a tendency to lose their spring after a while. Bending them was the only way to tighten them up, wasn't much good after that.
As long as battery post and cable ends stay in like new condition, their OK. Just can't take them off and on a bunch.

Old 04-26-2008, 04:38 PM

I have them on my car and just like QS says - I wouldn't take them off or on that much. I will change them to "modern" ones when these are shot, but they're 39 years old. If it ain't broke....but I'd rather the ones with a bolt on them personally. I'm not in any contests. I've just been very lucky to get a car in very original condition.

Old 04-26-2008, 09:35 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Thanks for the replies guys. My car is not going to be judged or anything ,but I like to keep it looking as orignal as possible,but not at the expense of dependability.Also the spring rings are about $70 for a new set. So this is why I asked the question,I'm kind of on the fence on this one. The original owner of my GTO had replaced the cables with mismatched baby blue colored cables that look out of place under my hood.
Thanks,guys

71' GTO -original 400/4-speed/3.23 posi