THE LOBBY A gathering place. Introductions, sports, showin' off your ride, birthday-anniversary-milestone, achievements, family oriented humor.

Old 11-20-2021, 07:08 PM

Default New guy from PNW chasing 1966 GTO

Hello all,

I just joined this forum, but I've been chasing a particular 1966 GTO for over ten years, and this week got to see it for the first time. Very long story short: it's my former neighbor's elderly dad's car, I asked him to sell it years ago, got "I'll think about it," now he's in memory care, and my former neighbor wants to sell to me. In garage storage for 40--yup, 40!--years, covered with newspapers. Car: 1966 Hardtop, Montero Red, 4 bbl, manual trans, factory AC & PS, non-rusty PNW car, paint is 3.5-4.5 mils. All trim is there, no dents, paint is faded but can be brought back. Interior is moldy, but intact. No rips, no tears. A bit of critter damage is evident inside, and the A/C has been taken apart. I put it on jack stands today--underside looks clean, all the wheels rotate, does not have a Posi. The bad: the engine does not turn over when I put a wrench on it. It's stuck fast. The car was left with oil in it, and my guess is it "ran when parked" since it was backed into the garage. The owner doesn't remember the car, or, indeed, his own house of 44 years. It's a sad story.

I'm deciding whether I want to buy this car myself or help them sell it. My first choice is to buy it get it back to running condition, but not restore it and just drive it as is--as a survivor. I want to offer the owners a fair price on the car and would appreciate any advice folks might want to offer on how to reach a fair price. Since it doesn't run, it's less than a Hagerty #4, but it's definitely way more than a parts car, and it has cool options.

I write about cars for various magazines--Porsche & BMW--but I love American muscle cars, and I've always loved GTOs. This "barn find" will make a cool story or series of stories.

Anyway: Watch this space.