THE LOBBY A gathering place. Introductions, sports, showin' off your ride, birthday-anniversary-milestone, achievements, family oriented humor.

Old 11-25-2021, 02:22 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default Alu block for street driving

Thinking about building a alu block RA V engine for my 69 bird.Is there anything I should know before I go shopping for a IA or KRE block?I want EVERYTHING that bolts up on our stock blocks to just bolt up,stock oil pan,windage tray, valley cover, motor mounts,exhaust clear etc etc etc.Anyone with experience that has built both blocks?Tom

Old 11-25-2021, 03:12 PM
Ultimate Warrior

I have no experience with the KRE aluminum blocks. Can't say I have even looked at one disassembled. I have built multiple IA aluminum blocks, however. Tom, if you have built iron IA II's, the aluminum version is identical. So any issues you have experienced with the IA II iron should be the same with the aluminum one. Specifically: The freeze plugs are screw-in so they look a little different. The oil pan rail is extended for the registered main caps, so you will need the slightly longer oil pump drive rod and a little filler for the front of the oil pan where the timing cover goes. You can use RTV or double gasket, or make a little metal filler. The deck is extended front to rear and is wider. So slight modifications may be needed for exhaust fitment and front accessory brackets. All these things are minor and make the block much stronger for serious performance builds and more reliable. Be aware also, that the minimum finished bore will be 4.250" IMO. The one I am building now has an as delivered 4.241 bore and is pretty rough. It should finish at 4.250 with a perfect finish. If that's too big, call Frank at All Pontiac and see if a smaller bore is possible. I can not verify, but I think the KRE blocks have a more stock appearance externally, with drive-in freeze plugs and the non-extended decks. I am sure someone who has bought one can chime in on their particula