The Body Shop TECH General questions that don't fit in any other forum

Old 09-21-2006, 12:54 AM

Default frame paint?very confused

dropped my frame to get blasted tonight and was going to order a qt of eastwood extreme chassis black,then thought before i ordered id look around on here to see what others are using.Now im really confused,some say eastwood ,some say others ive never even heard of.Would like to do this right the first time,any suggestions would be appreciated.Did a search and sort of seems like owners choice on this issue.Since im no pro at this[learning curve on everything] i would like to do what is most durable and not all that difficult to spray. thanks

Old 09-21-2006, 11:12 AM

Waiting in anticipation for any answers. Im just about to the point of frame disassembly and top coat.

96 Impala SS
Old 09-21-2006, 11:27 AM
Ultimate Warrior

what u can expect is to continue to hear differnt opinions...i went thru this also...i ended up going with a quality ppg paint that i could add flattener to trying to get different shades of gloss...but only do this if u are bored...have money..and like to play chemist..its a time andmoney consuming game...the extreme chassis has a great sheen to it...plus it is always right in the can for u to do touch up...i just wonder about its ability to hold up to the elements...good luck and keep us posted on your decision

Old 09-21-2006, 11:44 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker

Default frames

Ya know there are so many products out there now that this is open to many many opinions...so dont hold me liable i'madumba$$
When I did my first frame bout 20 years ago had it blasted and then veri primed(Self-etch primer) then top coated with black enamel well enamel chips like crazy so it wasnt the greatest...

Now a days I see people using this or that,,,,,>>> POR 15 Eastwoods so on..Powder coating if you can afford it..Epoxy primers ,,,,

I would say 1st powder coating is the absolute best if you can get it done and afford it...