Old 05-14-2013, 09:00 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Default Any way that a visual inspection will reveal liner-to-drum corrosion?

With Arrowhead out of the picture, and no new vendor stepping up, it's looking like it's time to track down a set of used 8-lugs.

I know they can be cleaned and zyglowed for cracks, but, what about the liner? Talking to a few guys at TriPower, it seemed like that was the big bugaboo; virtually everything else can be restored or fixed.

As always, appreciate the feedback.

Old 05-14-2013, 10:12 AM
Ultimate Warrior

I am no expert, but was told and tried running my hand on the lining to see if there was any distortion in the lining suggesting separation/corrosion between the steel and aluminum prior to having them turned. I checked out one set locally and found there to be distortion so I passed and am using rallys.

65 Cat Ventura, 66 Cat Vert, 63 GP
Old 05-14-2013, 11:07 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker

I had understood that they are back in the picture?

http://www.arrowheadcomponentsinc.com/

Old 05-14-2013, 04:35 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Yes. You can see crazing on the lining. Maybe not in every single case, but it may not have an effect on the feel of the braking without it.

13 Smiles per Gallon:
66 Bonneville wagon
66 Bonneville 2d HT - In perpetual progress
Old 05-14-2013, 07:45 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Arrow Don't buy them...

My experiance with them (and I was just about pulling my hair out in the end), is you will see discolouration in the metal.

The liner develops rust between the liner and the alloy. The rust acts as an insulator so the heat developing as the drum gets hot cannot evenly disperse. The affected areas show up as a duller colour that the areas which still have excellent direct contact (read - no rust) between the liner and the alloy outer.