THE LOBBY A gathering place. Introductions, sports, showin' off your ride, birthday-anniversary-milestone, achievements, family oriented humor.

Old 05-07-2017, 09:50 AM
Ultimate Warrior

Default Cordless Reciprocating Saw - which one??

Looking to buy a cordless reciprocating saw. I've seen so many mixed reviews that
I just can't decide. Wife wants to use one for some wood projects, I want one for metal projects. I've seen the new Dewalt 60V brushless and I thought this has to be the one, but I've seen a couple bad reviews on it. They say battery life sucks. What do you have and do you like it? I don't want to buy a piece of crap and regret it later. Thanks.

Old 05-07-2017, 10:06 AM
Ultimate Warrior

I've never been a fan of the DeWalt sawzalls. They aren't as smooth as other brands. I've been a contractor for 25 years and I've used most brands.

I assume that you're intent on buying cordless? A sawzall isn't the type of tool that's well suited to cordless operation. I have one, but it's only for quick cuts or tough locations- for 95% of recip saw jobs I use a corded saw- better power, smoother operation and generally better, more solid feel… and the battery doesn't die right before I finish the cut.

1979 Trans Am 400, 4-speed, 4 wheel disc.

View from the drivers seat racing down Atco Raceway- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GhYDMdOEC7A

Ride along in the other lane-http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mIzgpLtF_uw
Old 05-07-2017, 10:46 AM
Chief Ponti-yacker

I have a whole bunch of 20 volt Max Dewalt tools and they all work fine for me. I'm in the handyman business so maybe I'm not using the sawsall every day. But I can do a lot with it when I use it. The blade can even be installed two different ways. I'd give the Dewalt a thumbs up. The 20 volt batteries go a long time too.

Old 05-07-2017, 10:50 AM
Ultimate Warrior