Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 01-21-2014, 02:51 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Default spare tire

I'm planning to cruise on the last leg of the Power Tour this summer. It crossed my mind that I don't have a spare tire or jack for the 64 Tempest.

One thought was the can of fix-a-flat. I have never used these before. don't even know if that stuff works.

Or just take a plug kit. I already plan to take the cigarette lighter plug in air compressor. The plug kit has saved me on one other vacation trip.

Throw a full sized tire on a Ralley II rim and throw it in the trunk but I want to maximize space since I'm going to take the whole family.

Just get a year of AAA. That would just be a tow to a garage, right? I would still be screwed since this would be over Friday/Saturday/Sunday.

Get a space saver spare and scissor lift. This seems to be my best option. Do space saver spares come in a 5x 4.5 bolt pattern?

Last edited by rohrt; 01-21-2014 at 03:14 PM.
Old 01-21-2014, 03:15 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohrt View Post
One thought was the can of fix-a-flat.

Just get a year of AAA.
I've used fix-a-flat for 20 years - it works good. For blowouts/flats caused by bent rims, I'll call AAA. They send a tow truck and the guy will change your tire where the car sits. Not very helpful if you don't have a spare, though.

If you want to maximize room, I'd go with a fix a flat and a mini spare - if you can find one. Use AAA and don't worry about the jack.

Old 01-21-2014, 03:18 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Pretty sure a 64 Tempest would have come stock with 5 x 4.75 bolt pattern.

They do make space saver tires in either 5 x 4.5 and 5 x 4.75 and would seem like a good option for your situation.

The Following User Says Thank You to Joel Koontz For This Useful Post:
Old 01-21-2014, 08:42 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Your tire guy will hate you if you use fix a flat.

Donut spares are only good for low speeds for about 50 miles.