Pontiac - Street No question too basic here!

Old 11-16-2022, 05:59 PM

Default Brake rotor upgrade question

I was going to upgrade my stock front rotors and pads and read that a lot of people only upgrade the pads. If my goal is to get better stopping power from 90 back to 30 do I have to replace the rotors and pads or is there a good pad that will work with my existing stock rotors?

1971 GTO Convertible 455 #64 Heads, HO intake and carb with MSD HEI, RAIII exhaust manifolds and 3:55 posi
Old 11-16-2022, 08:16 PM
Ultimate Warrior

I used power stop rotors, affordable drilled and slotted and they are zinc coated so they don’t rust.

Old 11-16-2022, 08:16 PM
Ultimate Warrior

I am no expert but I can tell you pad compound plays a pretty big role in this. Especially for a single stop like you are describing. I had a NOS GMPP pad on my brake conversation that had outstanding initial bite and overall stopping power. Unfortunately, it made a ton of noise under braking and produced even more brake dust than noise. I ended up changing to Powerstop Z26's which cured the dust and noise, but the strong initial bite went away as well. Overall stopping power might be the same but I have nowhere near the confidence in them as I had in the GMPP brakes. Bottom line is I think this is like picking a cam. There is always going to be some compromise involved.

71 Formula 433, Splayed cap 400 block, 4" stroke Scat forged crank, 6.8 Eagle rods, custom Autotec pistons. SD 295 KRE D ports, Old faithful hybrid roller, Torker II, Holley Sniper Stealth, Tribal Tubes, TKO 600, 3.73 Eaton posi.
Old 11-16-2022, 08:57 PM
Ultimate Warrior

Oh forgot to mention. Yellow compound hawk pads

Old 11-16-2022, 10:33 PM
Ultimate Warrior

"Save the drilled rotors for cars-n-coffee crowd"

https://nomoneymotorsports.com/2019/...smooth-rotors/

Sponsor of the world's fastest Pontiac powered Ford Fairmont (engine)
5.14 at 140 mph (1/8 mile) , true 10.5 tire, stock type suspension